top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaire Pettebone

Little Ol' Grampa! 5/10/21

Here is my latest WIP, a new puppet, based off of my beloved Grandpa who passed this Spring. What a funny and animated man he was! I have a bunch of videos of him singing, talking and laughing that I would love to Animate to. Here is his face:



Not a whole lot going on yet, he definitely needs some hair.


An old man needs his glasses

Today I made some tiny little eye glasses. Grandpas were black with large frames. Made from wires and polymer clay around the top of the frames and sides. The way I bent the wire together on the bridge almost makes it look like it has little nose nubs :)




Polymer clay is one of my favorite clays to work with to create these simple and cartoon like character. Easy to bake in an oven and a variety of colors. Fun fact: Rubbing alcohol on a paint brush smooths out all the bumps and makes a nice soft finish!



Wrinkles 5/12/21


Today I added some wrinkles to this guy. I wanted only a few of them to maintain the cartoon like style but to also bring some age to his face. Here he is now, minus the eyebrows and mouth, but plus some detail!


Whenever I go back in and sculpt some more, I loose some of the smoothness of the clay surface because of the brush marks and my finger prints. Next up- replacement mouths!













2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
7E6EF983-9DD9-4D2A-9056-690838995EC8_edi
bottom of page